In New Jersey, the possession of CDS is punishable by law. The penalties for possessing a CDS (controlled dangerous substance) varies greatly depending on the type of drug and amount found on a person's possession when arrested. In general, CDS drugs are more serious substances such as cocaine, heroin, and Ecstasy. Large quantities of CDS can result in serious charges of "possession with the intent to distribute," which carries stiffer penalties than just simple possession.
Under New Jersey state statutes, it is illegal for a person to have any amount of heroin on them at any time. A person who has even a minute amount of heroin in their possession could be guilty of a 3rd-degree crime, which can be accompanied by a 5 year prison term. A fine of up to $35,000 can also be assessed, as well as a mandatory driver's license suspension of at least 6 months.
Possession of CDS Defense Strategies
Don't assume that just because you have been arrested with drugs in your possession that you will be found guilty in a court of law. Instead, there are several strategies a defense attorney can use to lessen the severity of the charges you are facing. For example, a criminal defense attorney will determine: